David Kenney Reappointed to National Council

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker Reappoints David Kenney of Oregon BEST to National Advisory Council to Help Expand Entrepreneurship and Promote American Innovation

PORTLAND, Ore. – U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker today announced the appointment of 30 private sector, nonprofit, and academic leaders to serve on the National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship (NACIE). Secretary Pritzker reappointed David Kenney, President and Executive Director of Oregon BEST, to serve another two-year term on the council.

Selected from a pool of more than 200 applicants, Kenney is one of only five members being reappointed to serve a second term. During his first term, Kenney played a leadership role in the development of recommendations to improve the commercialization output of SBIR/STTR programs across all federal agencies.

The 30-member council focuses on making recommendations for policies and programs aimed at helping U.S. communities, businesses and the workforce be more globally competitive.

"The members of NACIE provide important counsel to the Department of Commerce on the types of federal policies that will support entrepreneurship, innovation and job-driven workforce training, all of which are critical to American competitiveness," said Secretary Pritzker. "As 'America’s Innovation Agency,' we value the expertise of our private sector partners and appreciate the opportunity to incorporate their views into our policymaking process."

NACIE, established in 2010, operates as an independent entity managed through Commerce's Economic Development Administration Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

"I'm honored to continue contributing to the national dialogue about how federal policy and programs can foster innovation and entrepreneurship across all sectors of the U.S. economy," Kenney said. "Oregon’s model of supporting innovation and entrepreneurship is recognized nationally for its collaborative approach, and I plan to continue to bring that mindset to national initiatives."

NACIE members, who will each serve a two-year term, have demonstrated expertise and experience in the areas of innovation, entrepreneurship, and employer-driven talent development. In reviewing applications, the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship sought a diverse group of nationally recognized leaders representing different demographics, organization size, industry sector, and geographic regions to provide a balanced viewpoint on these issues. NACIE will convene four times each year, with its inaugural meeting scheduled for October 2016.

Now in its third membership cycle, NACIE members appointed today are:

  • Rebecca O. Bagley – Vice Chancellor Economic Partnerships at University of Pittsburgh
  • Esther M. Baldwin – Director of Innovation at Intel
  • Brian J. Bartholomeusz – Executive Director, TomKat Center for Sustainable Energy at Stanford University
  • Heather Boesch – Director of Business Operations at IDEO
  • Trey Bowles – Cofounder at The Dallas Innovation Alliance (DIA) and CEO at The Dallas Entrepreneur Center
  • Melissa L. Bradley (Co-chair) Director, AU Center for Innovation in the Capital
  • Kathryn Finney – Founder and Managing Director at digitalundivided
  • Scott Frederick – Development Partner & Head of Federal at New Enterprise Associates
  • Kara Goldin – Founder & CEO at Hint, Inc.
  • Julie K. Goonewardene* – Associate Vice Chancellor for Innovation and Strategic Investment, University of Texas System
  • Orin Herskowitz – Executive Director, Vice President of Intellectual Property and Tech Transfer at Columbia Technology Ventures, Columbia University
  • Richard A. Johnson – Associate Vice President at Kentucky Science and Technology Corporation
  • Joseph Kapp – Entrepreneur in Residence at Eastern WV Community & Technical College and CEO at Behavioral Business, LLC
  • David S. Kenney* – President & Executive Director of Oregon BEST
  • Pradeep K. Khosla – Chancellor at University of California, San Diego
  • Marie Trzupek Lynch* – CEO at Skills for Chicagoland’s Future
  • Mike Nemeth – Founder & CEO, S3 Planning
  • Andrew D. Reamer – Research Professor at George Washington University
  • Emily Reichert – CEO at Greentown Labs
  • Joseph L. Schocken – President at Broadmark Capital, LLC
  • Sue Griffith Smith – Vice President Technology and Applied Science at Ivy Tech Community College
  • Whitney S. Smith – Executive Director – Midwest, Global Philanthropy at JPMorgan Chase
  • Tiffany M. Stevenson – Vice President, Talent Management & Development at Sephora USA, Inc.
  • Stephen S. Tang* (Co-chair) President & CEO, University City Science Center
  • Eric J. Toone – Vice Provost & Director, Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Duke University
  • Howard A. Tullman – CEO at 1871 and General Managing Partner at Chicago High Tech Investment Partners, LLC
  • Maribel Perez Wadsworth – Senior Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer at Gannett Company, Inc.
  • Tiffany J. Wilson* – Executive Director at Global Center for Medical Innovation
  • Chad Womack – Director, STEM Initiatives at United Negro College Fund (UNCF)
  • Andrew Yang – Founder and CEO at Venture for America

* indicates reappointed member

Media Contact: Gregg Kleiner, 541-740-9654; Source: David Kenney, 503-780-8736

About Oregon BEST http://oregonbest.org
Oregon BEST funds and assists cleantech startups, bringing together Oregon’s significant R&D strengths to support entrepreneurs in the creation of new products and services. As the nexus for clean technology innovation, Oregon BEST builds capability, convenes collaborations and accelerates solutions to environmental challenges that deliver prosperity in all corners of Oregon. More than 250 Oregon BEST Member Researchers and a network of nine Oregon BEST Labs at four partner universities (Oregon State University, Oregon Tech, Portland State University, and University of Oregon) offer research expertise and lab equipment to industry. Oregon BEST competitively awards Early-Stage Investments to collaborations between startup companies and Oregon BEST Member Faculty at partner universities.

To learn more about the National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship, visit